Subcommittee 2: Students 

The Students Subcommittee was charged with preparing responses to the following questions: Who are we? Whom have we taught? Whom are we teaching? Whom will we teach? How many students will we teach?

Conversation prompts: Thinking about whom we will teach could include a range of issues that perhaps generally relate to enrollment management but really pertain to the composition of the student body. Demographics play a role, as do other external factors such as SB 1440 and SB 850. There are additional considerations such as the balance between graduate and undergraduate students, the relative proportions of freshmen and upper‐division transfers, resident and non‐resident students, and international students. How many students we will teach is subject to certain external factors such as (but not limited to) the CSU Academic Sustainability Plan and the growing interest in outcomes‐based funding; impaction and the importance of student success metrics also could figure in the analysis.


subCommittee Members

Berenecea Johnson Eanes, Co-Chair
Vice President for Student Affairs

Sean Walker, Co-Chair
Academic Senate Executive Committee Member, Biological Science Professor

Darren Bush
Interim Associate Vice President for Student Affairs

Ioakim Boutakidis
Child and Adolescent Studies Associate Professor

Emily Erickson
Communications Associate Professor

David Forgues
Chief of Operations for Student Affairs

ASI Representative

Pratanu Ghosh
Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor

Aimee Nelson
Director for the Center for Careers in Teaching

Araceli Robles
Graduate Student

Katherine Powers
Director for the Office of Graduate Studies

Lynn Sargeant
Associate Dean, Student Relations, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Subcommittee Support Staff

Last updated July 12, 2017