

ACADEMIC SENATE ELECTORAL MEETING MINUTES MAY 17, 2012

ASD 12-105

Approved 8-30-12

11:30 AM - 12:00 NOON

Pollak Library North 130

Present: Armstrong, Balderas, Bedell, Bruschke, Buck, Carroll, Chavis, Dabirian, Evanow, Fidalgo, Filowitz, Fisher, Fitch, Gradilla, Hewitt, Huizinga, Jarvis, Jones, Knutson Miller, Manriquez, Martinez, Matz, Mead, Michalopoulos, Morales, Myck-Wayne, Pasternack, Puri, Randall, Rhodes, Rhoten, Shoar, Stambough, Stang, Stein, Taylor, Walicki, Walk, Walker, Westgate, Yang

Absent: Bonney, Gratton-Lavoie, Guerin, Hagan, Hickok, Murray, Nyaggah

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bedell called the meeting to order at 11:30 AM. Academic Senators introduced themselves stating their department affiliation. Secretary Walker marked the roll for the new (2012-13) Academic Senate.

II. URGENT BUSINESS

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

IV. CONSENT CALENDAR

M/S/P (Pasternack/Dabirian) Consent calendar was approved unanimously.

- 4.1 Confirmation of Alternatives for CSU Academic Senators
 - For Diana Guerin: Kristi Kanel For Barry Pasternack: Lynda Randall
 - For Steve Stambough: Sean Walker
- 4.2 Nominees to Standing Committees

CAMPUS FACILITIES AND BEAUTIFICATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Dennis Siebenaler (ARTS); Bill Beam (HHD); Phil Armstrong (NSM);

Stephen Neufeld (SOC SCI); Christina Carroll-Pavia (L/A/C/E) <u>Continuing:</u> Jacqueline Frost (COMM); Leigh Barton (EDUC); Harmonie Hawley (ECS); Cheryl Zimmerman (HUM); Xiaoving Xie (MCBE)

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

- <u>Nominees:</u> Betty Chavis (MCBE); Binod Tiwari (ECS); Alain Bourget (NSM); Eileen Walsh (SOC SCI); Cynthia Gautreau (EDUC)
- <u>Continuing:</u> Stephanie Rosenblatt (L/A/C/E); Debra Lockwood (ARTS); Renae Bredin (HUM); Riccardo de Los Rios (COMM); Pamella Oliver (HHD)

FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

- <u>Nominees:</u> Diane Witmer (COMM); Jidong Huang (ECS); Louise Adler (EDUC); Nancy Ahern (HHD); Mougo Nyaggah (SOC SCI)
- <u>Continuing:</u> Laura Lohman (ARTS); Mira Farka (MCBE); John Davis (HUM); Kathryn Dickson (NSM); Anthony Davis (L/A/C/E)

GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

- <u>Nominees:</u> Mark Goodrich (ARTS); Heather Osborne-Thompson (COMM); Julian Jefferies (EDUC); Greg Childers (NSM); Craig McConnell (HUM)
- <u>Continuing:</u> Lee Brown (HHD); Nancy Fitch (SOC SCI); Doug Liverpool (L/A/C/E); Irene Lange (MCBE); Maqsood Chaudhry (ECS)

GRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

- <u>Nominees:</u> Ed Fink (COMM); Louise Adler (EDUĆ); Scott Hewitt (NSM); Gayle Brunelle (SOC SCI); Julie Meisles (L/A/C/E)
- <u>Continuing:</u> David Nevell (ARTS); Teeanna Rizkallah (MCBE); David Naish (ECS); Penny Weismuller (HHD); Markus Fischer (HUM)

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

<u>Nominees:</u> Jenny Zhang (MCBE); Andi Stein (COMM); Loretta Donovan (EDUC); Karyl Ketchum (HUM); Leslie Grier (HHD); William Breitbach (L/A/C/E)

Continuing: Chean Ngo (ECS); Pam Fiber (SOC SCI); Bill Hoese (NSM); Charles Grieb (ARTS)

PLANNING, RESOURCE & BUDGET COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

<u>Nominees:</u> Lisa Kirtman (EDUC); Bob Mead (MCBE); Michael Shafae (ECS); Sheryl Fontaine (HUM); Michael DeMars (L/A/C/E)

<u>Continuing</u>: Kari Knutson Miller (HHD); John Carroll (SOC SCI); Philippe Perebinossoff (COMM); Paul DeLand (NSM); Bill Meyer (ARTS)

V. ELECTIONS – 2012-13 Executive Committee Members

With the help of Rommel Hidalgo preparing the set-up, electronic clickers were used for voting. Instructions were given, number of clickers counted (41), and a test run performed prior to voting for the 2012–2013 Academic Senate Executive Committee.

There was consent of the body for nominees to give an optional one-minute statement for the first-time (only) a person was nominated for any of these positions.

The votes needed to win in each position are a majority of total votes cast.

Nominations/elections were appropriately moved and seconded for the seven (7) Executive Committee positions.

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
1.	Chair	Jack Bedell	SS	Puri	MCBE	Acclamation	Jack Bedell
					Closed	J	
2	Vice Chair	Steve Walk	HHD	Stambough	SS	Acclamation	Steve Walk
2.	vice onali			Otambough	Closed	roolamaton	Oleve Walk
3.	Secretary	Sean Walker	NSM	Hewitt	NSM	Acclamation	Sean Walker
<u>J.</u>	Secretary	Seall Walker	NOW	Hewitt	Closed	Acciamation	Sean Walker
4.	Treasurer	Amir Dabirian	IT Div	Pasternack	MCBE	Acclamation	Amir Dabirian
.	Treasurer		TT DIV	1 dotomatic	Closed	ricolamation	
F	#4 At L arma	Deves Fidelas	HUM	Fitch	SS	40	7
5.	#1 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo Irene Matz	COMM	Stein	COMM	13 15	_
		Lynda Randall	EDUC	Pasternack	MCBE	6	_
		Jon Bruschke	COMM	Walk	HHD	7	
5.	#1 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo			Run-off	15	7
		Irene Matz			Run-off	26	Irene Matz
6.	#2 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo	HUM	Fitch	SS	13	
0.	#1 / A 14.90	Lynda Randall	EDUC	Pasternack	MCBE	13	
		Jon Bruschke	COMM	Evanow	MCBE/COMM	13	
6.	#2 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo	HUM		Run-off	12	
		Lynda Randall	EDUC		Run-off	14	
		Jon Bruschke	COMM		Run-off	14	
6.	#2 At-Large	Lynda Randall			Run-off	17	
<u>v.</u>	"E AL LUI YO	Jon Bruschke			Run-off	23	Jon Bruschke

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
7. ‡	#3 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo	HUM	Fitch	SS	15	
		Lynda Randall	EDUC	Jones	HHD	19	
		Ken Walicki	ARTS	Walker	NSM	6	
7. #	#3 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo			Run-off	15	
		Lynda Randall			Run-off	25	Lynda Randall

Three elected CSU Senators from CSUF also serve on A.S. Executive Committee.

Diana Guerin (HHD) Barry Pasternack (MCBE) Stephen Stambough (HSS)

Chair Bedell congratulated the newly elected Executive Committee representing a diversity of constituencies.

The newly-elected Executive Committee will meet Tuesday, May 29, 2012 to begin the 2012-13 term.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 12:02 PM.