

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON

ACADEMIC SENATE

ELECTORAL MEETING MINUTES MAY 23, 2013

ASD 13-131

Approved 8-29-13

11:30 AM - 12:00 NOON

Pollak Library North 130

Present: Armstrong, Balderas, Basil, Bath, Bedell, Bonney, Botsford, Bruschke, Buck, Carroll, Chavis, Cruz, Dabirian,

Fidalgo, Filowitz, Fitch, Fontaine, García, Gradilla, Jarvis, Knutson Miller, Lartey, Matz, Mead, Morales, Myck-Wayne, Pasternack, Puri, Randall, Rhodes, Rhoten, Rodriguez, Stambough, Stang, Stein, Walicki,

Walk, Walker, Yang

Absent: Evanow, Guerin, Hassan, Jones, Michalopoulos, Perez, Watson(Etheridge), Weismuller, Westgate

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bedell called the meeting to order at 11:33 AM.

II. URGENT BUSINESS

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

(Pasternack) Reminded the body that an Academic Senate BBQ will take place today at 4:00 PM at the Bedell home in Fullerton.

IV. ELECTIONS

2013-2014 Academic Senate Executive Committee

Nominations from the floor for:

1.	Chair	5.	At-Large
2.	Vice Chair	6.	At-Large
3.	Secretary	7.	At-Large
4.	Treasurer		

With Rommel Hidalgo's assistance, radio-frequency clickers were distributed to be used for voting. Instructions were given, number of clickers counted (39), and a test run performed as Chair Bedell called the roll of 2013–2014 Academic Senate members. Newly elected members were welcomed: Basil, Botsford, Fontaine, Hassan, Lartey, Perez, Rodriguez, and Watson. For purposes of this election, 20 constituted a majority.

There was consent of the body for nominees to give an optional one-minute statement for the first-time (only) a person was nominated for any of these positions.

The votes needed to win for each position are a majority of total votes cast.

Nominations/elections were appropriately moved and seconded for the seven (7) Executive Committee positions.

# Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
4 01 1	10 14/ 11			1		0 111
1. Chair	Sean Walker	NSM	Bonney	HUM	Acclamation	Sean Walker
				Closed		
2. Vice Chair	Emily Bonney	HHD	Matz	COMM	Acclamation	Emily Bonney
	Matt Jarvis	At-Large	Fidalgo	At-Large	withdrawn	
				Closed		
0 0	0(T	I	T	04 11/11
3. Secretary	Steve Walk	At-Large	Stambough	CSU/Soc Sci	Acclamation	Steve Walk
				Closed]	
			T			7
	The state of the s	EDUC	Pasternack	CSU/MCBE	19	
4. Treasurer	Lynda Randall	LDOO				
4. Treasurer	Matt Jarvis	At-Large	Carroll	At-Large	20	Matt Jarvis

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
5 .	#1 At-Large	Ken Walicki	ARTS	Fitch	Soc Sci	17	
		Amir Dabirian	At-Large	Pasternack	CSU/MCBE	22	Amir Dabirian

6 .	#2 At-Large	Sheryl Fontaine	At-Large	Bonney	Hum	26	Sheryl Fontaine
		Ken Walicki	ARTS	Fidalgo	At-Large	13	
		Lynda Randall	At-Large	Pasternack	CSU/MCBE	Ineligible*	

^{* 2-}year term limit in office

7. #3 At-Large Ken Walicki ARTS Fitch Soc Sci Acc	Acclamation Ken Walicki
---	-------------------------

Three elected CSU Senators from CSUF also serve on A.S. Executive Committee.

Diana Guerin (HHD) 2016	Stephen Stambough (HSS) 2015	Barry Pasternack (MCBE) 2014
-------------------------	------------------------------	------------------------------

Chair Bedell congratulated the newly elected Executive Committee, and turned the gavel over to newly-elected A.S. Chair Walker. Senator Bedell will continue to serve on the Executive Committee as "Immediate Past Chair".

The newly-elected Executive Committee will hold meetings through summer 2013, and will act on behalf of the Academic Senate until the first meeting August 29th.

V. CONSENT CALENDAR

M/S/P (Dabirian/Mead) Consent calendar was approved unanimously.

5.1 Confirmation of Alternatives for CSU Academic Senators

For Diana Guerin: Irene Matz
For Barry Pasternack: Jack Bedell
For Steve Stambough: Sean Walker

5.2 Nominees to Standing Committees

ACADEMIC STANDARDS COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Jeanine Congalton (COMM); Mark Filowitz (CNSM); Denise Stanley (MCBE);

Stephen O'Connor (SOC SCI); Lauren Fournier (L/A/C/E)

Continuing: Sang June Oh (ECS); Lisa Winstead (EDUC); Kristi Kanel (HHD);

Bradley Starr (HUM); Eve Himmelheber (ARTS)

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Marc Dickey (ARTS): Jason Shepard (COMM): Forthcoming (HHD):

Markus Fischer (HUM); Forthcoming (L/A/C/E)

Continuing: Betty Chavis (MCBE); Binod Tiwari (ECS); Alain Bourget (NSM);

Cynthia Gautreau (EDUC); Eileen Walsh (SOC SCI)

ELECTIONS COMMITTEE (5 faculty)

Nominees: Rebecca Otten (HHD); Carol Ames (COMM); Robert Mead (MCBE)

Continuing: Adolfo Prieto (L/A/C/E); Robey Callahan (SOC SCI)

FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Laura Lohman (ARTS); Emmanuel Lartey (MCBE); Saul Tobias (HUM);

Kathryn Dickson (NSM); Anthony Davis (L/A/C/E); Forthcoming (SOC SCI)

Continuing: Diane Witmer (COMM); David Cheng (ECS); Louise Adler (EDUC);

Katherine Bono (HHD)

GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Mia Sevier (HHD); Forthcoming (SOC SCI); Forthcoming (L/A/C/E);

Forthcoming (MCBE); Forthcoming (ECS); Forthcoming (ARTS)

Continuing: Heather Osborne-Thompson (COMM); Julian Jefferies (EDUC);

Greg Childers (NSM); Craig McConnell (HUM)

GRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Penny Weismuller (HHD); Adrian Woo Jung (EDUC); Forthcoming (ARTS);

Forthcoming (MCBE); Forthcoming (ECS); Forthcoming (HUM)

Continuing: Ed Fink (COMM); John Schenk (NSM); Gayle Brunelle (SOC SCI);

Julie Meisles (L/A/C/E)

PLANNING, RESOURCE & BUDGET COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Jon Bruschke (COMM); Paul Deland (NSM); Nancy Fitch (SOC SCI)

Continuing: Lisa Kirtman (EDUC); Bob Mead (MCBE); Michael Shafae (ECS); Bill Meyer (ARTS);

Andrea Patterson (HUM); Michael DeMars (L/A/C/E); Kari Knutson Miller (HHD)

Prior to adjournment, President García presented to Chair Bedell a letter from former President Don Shields who was unable to attend today's Academic Senate meeting.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 11:52PM.