

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON

ACADEMIC SENATE

ELECTORAL MEETING MINUTES MAY 19, 2016

ASD 16-100

Approved 8-25-16

11:30 AM - 12:00 NOON

Pollak Library North 130

Present: Armstrong, Barr, Basil, Bonney, Bruschke, Buck, Casem, Cruz, Dabirian, DeMars, Dries, Evanow, Fidalgo, Filowitz, Fitch, Fujita-Rony, Gradilla, Hagihara, Holland, Jarvis, Kanel, Lohman, Maddox, Matz, Mead, Meyer, Myck-Wayne, Oliver, Patton, Powers, Rodriguez, Sargeant, Stambough, Stang, Tsang, Valencia, Walicki, Walker, Wang, Wood

Absent: Chavis, García, Perez, Puri, Self, Stohs, Tavakolian

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bonney called the meeting to order at 11:35 AM. Senator/Secretary Casem called roll for the meeting.

II. URGENT BUSINESS

On behalf of President Garcia, Provost Cruz thanked the body for the work they performed last year and welcomed the new senators. He then distributed the See's Candy lollipops she sent.

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

3.1 Senator Dabirian Change your password.

IV. ELECTIONS

Chair Bonney announced the upcoming election. With assistance from Sepher Sobhani, 40 radio-frequency clickers were distributed and instructions given.

Roll-Call: Senator Casem called the names of the new Academic Senators eligible to vote as each Senator tested his/her clicker to be used to elect the 2016–2017 Academic Senate Executive Committee.

Nominations from the floor for:

1.	Chair	5.	At-Large
2.	Vice Chair	6.	At-Large
3.	Secretary	7.	At-Large
4	Treasurer		

Newly elected members were welcomed: Bruschke, Fujita-Rony, Hagihara, Holland, Jarvis, Lohman, Maddox, Matz, Self, Tsang. For purposes of this election, 21 constituted a majority.

There was consent from the body for nominees to give an optional two-minute statement for the first-time (only) a person was nominated for any of these positions.

The votes needed to win for each position are a majority of total votes cast.

Nominations/elections were appropriately moved and seconded for the seven (7) Executive Committee positions.

1. Chair Emily Bonney HUM Armstrong NSM 23 Emily Bonne	
	У
Jon Bruschke COMM Gradilla SOC SCI 17	

2.	Vice Chair	Irene Matz	COMM	Evanow	COMM	10	
		Stephen Stambough	SOC SCI	Meyer	ARTS	29	Stephen Stambough

3. Secretary	Alexandro Gradilla	SOC SCI	Walicki	ARTS	21	Alexandro Gradilla
	Merri Lynn Casem	NSM	Stang	EDUC	19	

#1	
Round	

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
4.	Treasurer	Nancy Fitch	SOC SCI	Bruschke	COMM	20	
		Irene Matz	COMM	Meyer	ARTS	20	
		Amir Dabirian	ADMIN	Evanow	COMM	Ineligible*	

^{* 2-}year term limit in office

l #2	
D	
Round	

4. Tre	easurer	Nancy Fitch	SOC SCI	Bruschke	COMM	18	
		Irene Matz	COMM	Meyer	ARTS	22	Irene Matz

#1 Round

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	
5 .	#1 At-Large	Nancy Fitch	SOC SCI	Kanel	HHD	14	
		Ron Oliver	EDUC	Casem	NSM	12	
		Amir Dabirian	ADMIN	Evanow	COMM	14	

#2 Round

5 .	#1 At-Large	Nancy Fitch	SCO SCI	Kanel	HHD	16	
		Amir Dabirian	ADMIN	Evanow	COMM	24	Amir Dabirian

#1 Round

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	
6.	#2 At-Large	Merri Lynn Casem	NSM	Meyer	ARTS	7	
		Reyes Fidalgo	HUM	Fitch	SOC SCI	15	
		Sean Walker	NSM	Sargeant	ADMIN	15	
		Matthew Jarvis	SOC SCI	Walicki	ARTS	3	

#2 Round

6.	#2 At-Large	Merri Lynn Casem	NSM	Meyer	ARTS	Withdrew	
		Reyes Fidalgo	HUM	Fitch	SOC SCI	16	
		Sean Walker	NSM	Sargeant	ADMIN	24	Sean Walker

#	Office	Nominees	College	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
7.	#3 At-Large	Reyes Fidalgo	HUM	Fitch	SOC SCI	18	
		Ronald Oliver	EDUC	Casem	NSM	22	Ronald Oliver
		Matthew Jarvis	SOC SCI	Walker	NSM	Withdrew	

Three elected CSU Senators from CSUF also serve on A.S. Executive Committee.

Bill Meyer (ARTS) 2017	Mark Stohs (MCBE) 2018	Jon Bruschke (COMM) 2019
------------------------	------------------------	--------------------------

Chair Bonney read the names of the newly elected Executive Committee, congratulated everyone, and continued the meeting.

The newly-elected Executive Committee will hold meetings through summer 2016, and will act on behalf of the Academic Senate until the first meeting August 25th.

V. CONSENT CALENDAR

M/S/P (Kanel/Oliver) consent calendar approved unanimously.

5.1 Confirmation of Alternates for CSU Academic Senators

For Bill Meyer: Steven Stambough
For Jon Bruschke: Matthew Jarvis
For Mark Stohs: Phil Armstrong

5.2 NOMINATIONS TO STANDING COMMITTEES

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Phoolendra Mishra (ECS); Eileen Walsh (SOC SCI); Megan Wagner (L/A/C/E);

Robert Mead (MCBE); Pending (NSM); Pending (EDUC)

Continuing: Fred Kinney (ARTS); Jason Shepard (COMM); Kathleen Wilson (HHD);

Markus Fischer (HUM)

GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Jim Taulli (ARTS); Greg Childers (NSM); Tenzin Dorjee (COMM);

Susan Tschabrun (L/A/C/E); Pending (EDUC); Pending (HUM)

Continuing: Michele Wood (HHD); Brenda Bowser (SOC SCI); Kevin Wortman (ECS);

Ajay Bhootra (MCBE)

GRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Paul Stapp (NSM); Barbara Erickson (SOC SCI); John Hoffman (EDUC);

Pending (ARTS); Pending (COMM); Pending (L/A/C/E)

Continuing: Chean Ngo (ECS); Enric Mallorqui-Ruscalleda (HUM); Penny Weismuller (HHD);

Hamid Tavakolian (MCBE)

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Loretta Donovan (EDUC); Karyl Ketchum (HUM); Sharon Seidman (HHD);

Moon Kim (L/A/C/E); Pending (MCBE)

Continuing: Nikolas Nikolaidis (NSM); Phoolendra Mishra (ECS); Charles Grieb (ARTS);

Jim Collison (COMM); Nancy Fitch (SOC SCI)

PLANNING, RESOURCE, & BUDGET COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Sean Walker (NSM); HyeKyeung Seung (COMM); Stacy Mallicoat (SOC SCI);

Pending (MCBE)

Continuing: Dave Mickey (ARTS); Sora Tanjasiri (HHD); Irena Praitis (HUM);

Michael Shafae (ECS); Erica Bowers (EDUC); Mike DeMars (L/A/C/E)

VI. ADJOURNMENT

M/S/P (Dabirian/Stang) Meeting was adjourned at 12:18 PM.