

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON

ACADEMIC SENATE MINUTES APRIL 8, 2021

ASD 21-55

Approved 4-22-21

Zoom

11:30 AM - 12:50 PM

Present: Badal, Barber, Barros, Biesiada, Brown, Bruce, Bruschke, Casem, Childers, Choi, Dabirian, Fidalgo, Filowitz, Forsgren, Ghosh, Gillespie, Gnanlet, Gradilla, Graewingholt, Jarvis, Jefferies, Kanel, Linares, Lucas, Matz, Meyer, Miller, Nair, Perez, Reneau, Self, Sheehan, Shoar, Stambough, Stohs, C. Thomas,

E. Thomas, Valdez, Virjee, Walicki, Walker, Walsh, Woo, Wood, Wynants, Zarate

Absent: David, McLain

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Stambough called the meeting to order at 11:30 AM.

I will be taking the chair's privilege to alter today's meeting agenda. The Online Culturally Responsive Teaching presentation will be delayed until the next AS meeting. Today we will open with the in memoriam as listed on the agenda. We will approve the minutes, the consent calendar, and we will have the faculty award presentations. Immediately following the faculty award presentations, we will present a resolution honoring Dr. John W. "Jack" Bedell, then we will open the floor for discussion and memories of Jack.

The Senate observed a moment of silence.

In Memoriam

- Edward Robinson, Lecturer in African American Studies [died: March 31, 2021]
- > Dr. John W. "Jack" Bedell, Emeritus Professor of Sociology [died: April 7, 2021]

II. URGENT BUSINESS

No urgent business.

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

	Online Education and Training Online Best Practices Webinar Series – Spring 2021	Flyer in Dropbox folder
--	---	-------------------------

IV. TIME APPROXIMATE

11:35 AM - 12:05 PM

Topic:Faculty Award PresentationsPresenter:President Virjee

Before presenting the 2020-21 Faculty Awards, President Virjee shared some remarks about Jack Bedell. The 2020-21 Faculty Awards were presented to:

Faculty Leadership in Collegial Governance Award 2020-21 - Dr. Jon Bruschke (Human Communication Studies)

President Virjee acknowledged the 2020-21 recipient of the Faculty Leadership in Collegial Governance Award (FLCGA) recipient, Dr. Jon Bruschke. UPS 292.000 recognizes exemplary leadership, lasting contributions to shared governance, and acknowledges the recipient's value and enduring impact in promoting consensus and collegiality. President Virjee enumerated a long list of accomplishments for this year's recipient.

Outstanding Lecturer Award 2020-21 - Dr. Monishia Miller (Politics, Administration and Justice)

President Virjee acknowledged the 2020-21 recipient of the Outstanding Lecturer Award recipient, Dr. Monishia Miller. UPS 295.000 recognizes lecturers who demonstrate excellence in teaching effectiveness and commitment beyond classroom teaching. President Virjee enumerated a long list of accomplishments for this year's recipient.

The Carol Barnes Excellence in Teaching Award 2020-21 - Dr. Danielle Zacherl (Biological Science)

President Virjee acknowledged the 2020-21 recipient of the Carol Barnes Excellence in Teaching Award recipient, Dr. Danielle Zacherl. UPS 292.000 recognizes faculty who demonstrate academic rigor in teaching consistent with the University Mission and Goals and the CSU mission. President Virjee enumerated a long list of accomplishments for this year's recipient.

The L. Donald Shields Excellence in Scholarly & Creativity Award 2020-21 - Dr. Maria Soledad Ramirez (Civil and Environmental Engineering)

President Virjee acknowledged the 2020-21 recipient of the L. Donald Shields Excellence in Scholarly & Creativity Award recipient, Dr. Maria Soledad Ramirez. UPS 294.000 recognizes outstanding scholarship, sustained record of research publications, external recognition in mentorship to students, and commitment to the educational mission of CSUF. President Virjee enumerated a long list of accomplishments for this year's recipient.

The Outstanding Professor Award 2020-21 - Dr. William Hoese (Biological Science)

President Virjee acknowledged the 2020-21 recipient of the Outstanding Professor Award recipient, Dr. William Hoese. UPS 294.000 recognizes outstanding scholarship, sustained record of research publications, external recognition in mentorship to students, and commitment to the educational mission of CSUF. President Virjee enumerated a long list of accomplishments for this year's recipient.

12:20 PM - 12:50 PM Topic: Online Culturally Responsive Teaching Presenter: VP Dabirian and Provost Thomas

This presentation has been postponed until the April 22 AS meeting.

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

ASD 21-49 Academic Senate Minutes 3-25-21 were approved by acclamation.

5.1 ASD 21-49 Academic Senate Minutes 3-25-21 (Draft)

VI. CONSENT CALENDAR

M/S/P (Kanel/Gradilla) Motion to approve the Consent Calendar. Consent Calendar approved by acclamation.

- 6.1 ASD 21-44 GE New Course Proposals Spring 2021
- 6.2 ASD 21-46 Program Discontinuance Fall 2021
- 6.3 ASD 21-50 Revisions to UPS 411.201 General Education: Breadth Objectives and Course Development

VII. CHAIR'S REPORT

1-page report

VIII. PROVOST REPORT

2-page report

IX. STATEWIDE ACADEMIC SENATE REPORT

No report.

X. ASI REPORT

4-page report

XI. CFA REPORT

6-page report

XII. NEW BUSINESS

- 12.1 ASD 21-47 Resolution in Support of Equitable Funding
- 12.2 ASD 21-45 Revisions to UPS 320.020 University Writing Requirements

(Stambough) I will be taking chair's privilege to share some words about Jack.

M/S/P (Stohs/Shoar) Motion to adopt Resolution Honoring Dr. John W. 'Jack' Bedell, Emeritus Professor of Sociology. Motion passed by acclamation.

There was a video presentation tribute in honor of Jack Bedell. Following the video, Chair Stambough opened the Senate floor to allow sharing of memories of Jack.

M/S/P (Jarvis/Shoar) Motion to refer the Faculty Collegial Governance Award to the Executive Committee to rename it the Jack Bedell Faculty Collegial Governance Award. The motion was approved by acclamation.

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned with another playing of the Jack Bedell video tribute.