

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON

ACADEMIC SENATE

ELECTORAL MEETING MINUTES MAY 18, 2023

ASD 23-74

Approved 8-24-23

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM PLN-120

Present: Badal, Barber, Bauer, Bono, Bonuso, Bruschke, Casem, Childers, Dabirian, Ebrahimi, Evanow, Galvan, J. Garcia, N. Garcia, Ghosh, Goodarzi, Graewingholt, Guo, Henning, Jarvis, Kakihara, Kanel, Ketchum, Landeros, Lewis Chiu, Luker, Mallicoat, Meyer, Milligan, Nair, Ordonez-Jasis, Oseguera, Plouffe, Robinson, Sacco, Scher, Self, Stanley, Swarat, Thomas, Valdez, Valencia, Virjee, Walsh, Weismuller, Wilson, Wood

Absent: Brown, Mikaelian, Miller, Shepard

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Walsh called the meeting to order at 11:35 AM. Senator Self did a roll-call of the names of the new Academic Senators for AY 2023-2024.

II. URGENT BUSINESS

No urgent business.

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

IV. ELECTIONS

Chair Walsh announced the AY 2023-2024 Executive Committee and the newly elected Senators, congratulated everyone, and continued the meeting. The results are listed below.

The newly elected Executive Committee will hold meetings through summer 2023 and act on behalf of the Academic Senate until the first meeting on August 24, 2023.

Three elected CSU Senators from CSUF also serve on A.S. Executive Committee.

Michael Milligan (CBE) 2024 Jason Shepard (COMM) 2025 Kristi Kanel (HHD) 2026

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
1.	Chair	Walsh	SOC SCI	Kanel	CSU Senator (HHD)	Acclamation	Eileen Walsh
					Closed		

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
2.	Vice-Chair	Jarvis	SOC SCI	Bruschke	At-Large (CCOM)	Acclamation	Matt Jarvis
					Closed		

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
3.	Secretary	Valdez	At-Large (EDUC)	Jarvis	SOC SCI	Acclamation	Carolina Valdez
					Closed		

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
4.	Treasurer	Self	SOC SCI	Kanel	CSU Senator (HHD)	Acclamation	Eriko Self
					Closed		

#1 Round

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
5.	#1 At-Large	N. Garcia	Staff	Casem	At-Large (NSM)	10	
		Swarat	ADMIN	Wood	HHD	18	
		Bruschke	At-Large (CCOM)	Henning	At-Large (EDUC)	19	

#2 Round

5.	#1 At-Large	Swarat	ADMIN	Wood	HHD	25	Su Swarat
		Bruschke	At-Large (CCOM)	Henning	At-Large (FDUC)	21	

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
6.	#2 At-Large	N. Garcia	Staff	Casem	At-Large (NSM)	24	Nina Garcia
		Bruschke	At-Large (CCOM)	Valencia	At-Large (CCOM)	22	

#	Office	Nominees	Constituency	Nominator	Constituency	Votes	ELECTED
7.	#3 At-Large	Bauer	Student Affairs	Oseguera	ADMIN	15	
		Bruschke	At-Large (CCOM)	Ketchum	HUM	31	Jon Bruschke

V. CONSENT CALENDAR

> M/S/P (Casem/Jarvis) Motion to approve consent calendar. Motion approved.

5.1 Confirmation of Alternates for CSU Academic Senators

For Kristi Kanel: Michele Wood
For Michael Milligan: Stephen Stambough

For Jason Shephard: Irene Matz

5.2 **NOMINEES TO STANDING COMMITTEES**

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Samuel Barber (L/A/C); Christa Greenfader (HHD); Jade Jewett (ARTS);

Pending (CCOM); Pending (HUM); Pending (CBE)

Continuing: Phoolendra Mishra (ECS); Joyce Gomez-Najarro (EDUC); Sean Loyd (NSM);

Devon Thacker Thomas (SOC SCI)

FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Nicole Bonuso (NSM) Michaela Keating (L/A/C); Pending (ARTS); Pending (CBE);

Pending (HUM)

Continuing: Irene Matz (CCOM); Ankita Mohapatra (ECS); Maritza Lozano (EDUC);

Christine Scher (SOC SCI); Katherine Bono (HHD)

GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Matthieu Hoffmann (HHD); Garrett Struckhoff (ECS); Barbara Miller (L/A/C);

Pending (SOC SCI); Pending (CBE)

Continuing: Calli Lewis Chiu (EDUC); Greg Childers (NSM); Erika Thomas (CCOM); JR Luker

(ARTS); Kevin Lambert (HUM)

GRADUATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Gordon Capp (HHD); John Koegel (ARTS); Prantanu Ghosh (ECS);

Pawel Kalcynski (CBE); Pending (HUM)

Continuing: Ying Du (CCOM); Sinan Akciz (NSM); Nancy Watkins (EDUC); Barbara Miller

(L/A/C);

Jochen Burgtorf (SOC SCI)

PLANNING, RESOURCE & BUDGET COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Bill Meyer (ARTS); Michele Wood (HHD)

Continuing: Minerva Chavez (EDUC); Jidong Huang (ECS); Craig McConnell (HUM);

Anthony Davis (L/A/C); Eric Rodriguez (CBE); Catherine Brennan (NSM); Jon

Bruschke (CCOM); Sam Stone (SOC SCI)

• Chair Walsh announced that Steve Stambough will be the Parliamentarian for AY 2023-24.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

➤ M/S/P (Garcia/Wood) Meeting was adjourned at 12:00 pm.