February 12, 2009



11:30 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.                                                                          ACADEMIC SENATE CHAMBERS

Members Present: Au, Bhattacharya, Bruschke, Buck, Bullock, Carroll, Drezner, Fidalgo, Gass, Gradilla, Grewal, Guerin, Hernandez, Hewitt, Hickok, Klassen, Liverpool, McMahan, Mead, Nyaggah, Randall, Rhodes, Rhoten, Stang, Taylor, Walicki, Walk, Williams

Absent: Arnold, Bedell, Burgtorf, Carvin, Dabirian, Dalley, Gordon, Green, Hagan, Jarvis, Kanel, McLain, Pasternack, Shapiro, Shoar, Smith



I.          CALL TO ORDER

Chair Hewitt called the meeting to order at 11:31 a.m.






Senator Nyaggah announced that on Tuesday, February 17th, the CFA Fullerton Board will have a booth set up in the quad near McCarthy Hall for students to sign FAX petitions in support of CSU Alliance efforts. He requested that everyone to ask students to participate.



The Consent Calendar was approved unanimously as submitted.


4.1 Nominees for Search Committee


Nominees:  (Announced by Chair Hewitt at the meeting) James Taulli (ARTS); Mitch Fennell (ARTS);

Jade Jewett (ARTS); Ken Walicki (ARTS); Katherine Kantardjieff (NSM)



Chair Hewitt’s report included the following:

·         In light of the previous meeting where, during discussion of the budget situation, the morale in the Senate Chambers seemed to sink, Chair Hewitt asked that everyone keep in mind that there are a lot of good things happening at CSUF. Faculty and students are actively engaged in research, various projects, and other creative activities. We can help the situation by helping the Alliance for the CSU, providing suggestions and ideas to the PRBC for budget cuts that will not impact the classroom, and looking for ways that we can cut back in our own departments and individually.

·         At the beginning of the year, President Gordon stated that he would grant 38 sabbaticals. In the past, that number would have included both type A and type B sabbaticals. This year, a number of type B requests were received. Type B sabbaticals are cost-neutral to the campus. The administration has agreed to grant 7 type B sabbaticals in addition to granting 38 type A sabbaticals. A total of 45 sabbaticals were granted, making a success rate of nearly 76% for faculty who requested sabbaticals. This is the highest number of sabbaticals granted of record.

·         Student Fee Advisory Committee – Consolidated Course Fee Decision: The amount of the consolidated course fee has been in discussion amongst several groups on campus, especially student groups. Initially, it had been proposed that the fee be increased from $12 per semester to $19 per semester and most groups agreed. However, because the proposed $19 still would not cover all costs, many groups proposed increasing the fee to $25 per semester (with the stipulation that this fee would not be increased again for three years). This increased fee would yield about $1 million increase per year for our classrooms.  (Discussion followed.)

·         Chair Hewitt has begun having monthly meetings with ASI President Curtis Schlaufman, and he will meet with Senators Carvin and Hernandez (ASI Reps to Senate) tomorrow. The meeting with Schlaufman will involve discussion of textbook affordability and sustainability.

·         The GE Forum took place last week and was very well attended. Chair Hewitt will follow up with the GE Committee regarding the next steps.

·         FTES for summer session will need to be cut a little over 1/3 (from 2,000 FTES to 1,300).

·         It has been reported that State leadership has come up with a proposal that includes a 10% cut to the CSU system. However, it is not clear what that cut will mean for us. Additional information is forthcoming.

·         PRBC has been discussing the Irvine campus. The property lease is up in June 2009, so we are looking for a site. One-time renovation costs will be necessary in order to make the site suitable for our needs. This is an increase in costs. In light of the current budget situation, PRBC and Senate Executive Committee are reviewing the costs and benefits of having a presence in South Orange County.

·         Chair Hewitt urged everyone to encourage their students to sign the FAX petitions at CFA’s booth in the quad for the CSU Alliance. He shared the following quote written on one of the FAX petitions by a student: “All who have meditated on the art of governing mankind have been convinced that the fate of empires depends on the education of youth.” – Aristotle

·         20 new faculty members have been hired; 7 offers are out; 8 offers have been declined; 11.5 faculty losses for the year (includes resignations, retirements, ending FERP, etc.) have been logged. 50 searches have been approved at this time.



No report was given.




Time Certain 

11:55 a.m.

Subject: Recognition of Senator Mohinder Grewal, Recipient of the Orange County Engineering Council (OCEC) Distinguished Engineering Educator Award

Senator Grewal was congratulated on his receipt of this award, which recognizes his long-standing scholarship and exemplary contributions to engineering and teaching. He was presented with a Senate keychain. He thanked his colleagues, Dean Unnikrishnan, Chair Shiva, and students in the College of Engineering and Computer Science.



Time Certain 

12:00 noon

Subject: Continued Discussion - Collegiate Learning Assessment (CLA) and Voluntary System of Accountability (VSA)

Gerald Patton, Director, Assessment and Educational Effectiveness

Edward Sullivan, Assistant Vice President (Acting), Office of Institutional Research and Analytical Studies

Discussion of the CLA and VSA continued with the unexhausted speaker’s list from the previous Senate meeting. Drs. Patton and Sullivan addressed several questions and concerns from the body regarding the methodology of the CLA and the validity of the data it captures, accountability of faculty versus assessment,and the cost of participation.


Chair Hewitt mentioned that the Senate Executive Committee is crafting a resolution regarding the use of CLA data in the VSA portrait; it is forthcoming.




Items 9.1 & 9.2 were not discussed due to lack of time.

9.1 ASD 09-17 Revised UPS 290.000 Outstanding Professor Award [Source: OPA Committee]

9.2 Area Code Changes


Meeting adjourned at 12:51 p.m. at the loss of a quorum.