

May 8, 2009 ASD 09-75

To: Senate Electorate

From: Robert Mead, Chair

Elections Committee

Subject: Results of May 4-7, 2009, All-University Elections, Spring 2009

Electorate Break-Down	Total	Voted	Participation Rate
Full-Time Constituents	1,088	491	45 %
Part-Time Constituents	891	98	11 %
Total Electorate	1,979	589	30 %

ACADEMIC SENATE SEATS

CONSTITUENCY

Education (48 voted / 84 total – 57% participation)			[One 2-year] 2011 [One 1-year] 2010
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results
Wayne Au	39 votes	81%	Elected [2-year] 2011
Deborah Ambrosetti	38 votes	79%	Elected [1-year] 2010
Write-in	0 votes		-

Business & Economics (43 voted / 151 total – 28% participation) [Two 2-year] 2011					
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results		
Zvi Drezner	39 votes	91%	Elected		
Chiara Gratton-Lavoie	32 votes	74%	Elected		
Write-in	1 vote	2%			

Engineering and Computer Science 31 voted / 43 total – 72% participation) [One 2-year] 2011				
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results	
Demitrios Michalopoulos (write-in)	16 votes	52%	Elected (write-in)	
Mohinder Grewal	15 votes	48%		

Health & Human Development (63 voted / 112 total – 56% participation)			[One 2-year] 2011
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results
Shari McMahan	56 votes	89%	Elected
Write-in	2 votes	3%	

Humanities (49 voted / 91 total – 53% participation)			[One 2-year] 2010
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results
David Kelman	35 votes	71%	Elected [2-year] 2011
Emily Miller Bonney	32 votes	65%	Elected [1-year] 2010
Write-in	2 votes	4%	·

- CSUF ASD 09-75

Social Sciences (85 voted / 159 total –	[One 2-year] 2011 [Two 1 year] 2010			
Candidates	Candidates Votes % of Votes			
Jonathan Taylor	52 votes	61%	Elected [2-year] 2011	
Stephen Stambough	60%	Elected [1-year] 2010		
Matthew Jarvis 50 votes		59%	Elected [1-year] 2010	
Write-in	0 votes			

Student Affairs (21 voted / 40 total – 52% participation) [One 2-year] 2011			
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results
Sandra Rhoten	19 votes	90%	Elected
Write-in	0 votes		

Library / Athletics / CAPS / UEE [One 2-year] 2011 (24 voted / 78 total – 31% participation)			[One 2-year] 2011
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results
John Hickok	22 votes	91%	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	4%	

Part-Time Faculty (98 voted / 891 total – 11% participation) [Two 1-year] 2010				
Candidates	Votes	% of Votes	Results	
Curtis Williams	71 votes	72%	Elected	
Peggy B. Shoar	71 votes	72%	Elected	
Peter Evanow	24 votes	24%		
Write-in	3 votes	3%		

At-Large Seats	[Department]	[Constituency]	Votes	Percentage of Votes	[Five 3-year] [One 1-year]
Nancy Fitch	History	Social Sciences	271	55%	Elected [2012]
Bill Meyer	Theatre & Dance	Arts	244	50%	Elected [2012]
Jochen Burgtorf	History	Social Sciences	242	49%	Elected [2012]
Craig McConnell	Liberal Studies	Humanities	223	45%	Elected [2012]
Kazuha Watanabe	Modern Languages & Lit	Humanities	218	44%	Elected [2012]
Lynn Sargeant (write-in)	History	Social Sciences	48	10%	Elected [2010] (write-in)
Other Write-ins			49	10%	

Administration	No Election	38 voted / 70 total – 54% participation
Arts	No Election	31 voted / 82 total – 38% participation
Communications	No Election	25 voted / 70 total – 36% participation
Natural Sciences & Mathematics	No Election	33 voted / 108 total – 31% participation

ACADEMIC SENATE

GENERAL COMMITTEES

FACULTY PERSONNEL COMMITTEE							
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	% of Votes	Results	
Larry Jasper	3 year	Arts	****	280	100%	Elected	
	[2012]		Write-in	1	0%		
Ruth Yopp-Edwards	3 year	Education		296	100%	Elected	
	[2012]		Write-in	0	0%		
Diana Guerin	3 year	Health & Human		316	100%	Elected	
	[2012]	Development	Write-in	1	0%		
Irena Praitis	2 year	Humanities		274	100%	Elected	
	[2011]		Write-in	1	0%		
Vic Brajer	3 year	Business & Economics		269	100%	Elected	
Ţ,	[2012]		Write-in	0	0%		

PROFESSIONAL LEAVES COMMITTEE							
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	% of Votes	Results	
John Koegel	3 year	Arts		264	99%	Elected	
3	[2012]		Write-in	3	1%		
Kuen-Hee Ju-Pak	3 year	Communications		260	100%	Elected	
	[2012]		Write-in	0	0%		
Shari McMahan	3 year	Health & Human		290	100%	Elected	
	[2012]	Development	Write-in	1	0%		
Cheryl Zimmerman	1 year	Humanities		277	100%	Elected	
· ·	[2010]		Write-in	0	0%		

FACULTY RESEARCH COMMITTEE							
Candidate	Term	Constituency		Votes	% of Votes	Results	
Prasado Rao	2 year	Engineering &	W. de de	250	99%	Elected	
	[2011]	Computer Science	Write-in	3	1%		
Dawn Person	2 year	Education		164	59%	Elected	
Rosario Ordoñez-Jasis	[2011]		***	112	41%		
			Write-in	0			
Heather Battaly	2 year	Humanities		282	100%	Elected	
	[2011]		Write-in	0	0%		
John Bock	2 year	Social Sciences		261	99%	Elected	
	[2011]		Write-in	2	1%		
Barbara Miller	2 year	Library		260	100%	Elected	
	[2011]		Write-in	1	0%		

Thank you to the 30% of the constituents who participated in this year's election. Congratulations to the newly elected senators and our gratitude to the nominees for their interest in serving.

Results of the Statements of Opinion will be sent under a separate memo.