

## CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON



May 1, 2020 ASD 20-51

To: CSUF Academic Senate Electorate

From: Sarah Hill, Chair

**Elections Committee** 

Subject: Results of April 27-30, 2020: All-University Elections, Spring 2020

Electorate Break-Down	Total	Voted	Participation Rate
Full-Time Constituents	1,209	523	43%
Part-Time Faculty	1,125	64	6%
Full-Time Staff	1,466	233	16%
Total Electorate	3,800	820	22%

## **ACADEMIC SENATE SEATS**

## **CONSTITUENCY**

Administration		[One 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Amir Dabirian	56 votes	Elected
Brent Foster	11 votes	
Write-in	0 votes	

Arts		[Two 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Ken Walicki	15 votes	Elected
Bill Meyer	13 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Communications		[Two 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Rebecca Sheehan	21 votes	Elected
Erika Thomas	20 votes	Elected
Christina Ceisel	15 votes	
Write-in	0 votes	

Engineering & Computer Science		[One 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Pratanu Ghosh	24 votes	Elected
Jidong Huang	19 votes	
Write-in	0 votes	

Education		[Two 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Maria Estela Zarate	25 votes	Elected
Carolina Valdez	22 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Health & Human Development		[One 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Joao Barros	49 votes	Elected
Yuying Tsong	34 votes	
Write-in	1 vote	

Humanities		[One 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Reyes Fidalgo	20 votes	Elected
Write-in	3 votes	

Social Sciences		[Three 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Eriko Self	63 votes	Elected
Patricia Perez	51 votes	Elected
Matthew Jarvis	48 votes	Elected
Kathleen Preston	40 votes	
John Patton	22 votes	
Write-in	0 votes	

<b>Natural Sciences &amp; Mathematics</b>		[One 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Merri Lynn Casem	38 votes	Elected
Write-in	2 votes	

Mihaylo College of Business & Economics		[One 2-year] 2022
Candidates	Votes	Results
Min Choi	32 votes	Elected
Yinfei Kong	8 votes	
Write-in	0 votes	

L/A/C [Library/Athletics/Counseling & Psych Svcs] [One 2-year] 2022		
Candidates	Votes	Results
Samuel Barber	10 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Part-Time Faculty [Two 1-year] 202			
Candidates	Votes	Results	
Rachel David (HUM)	44 votes	Elected	
Peggy Shoar (HHD)	32 votes	Elected	
Write-in	4 votes		

Full-Time Staff [Two 1-year] 2023		
Candidates	Votes	Results
Matthew Badal	170 votes	Elected
Michael Biesiada	96 votes	Elected
Ben Perez	88 votes	
Write-in	9 votes	

At-Large Seats	Department	Constituency	Votes	[Two 3-year]	Term
Kristi Kanel	Human Services	HHD	315	Elected [2023]	3-year
Jon Bruschke	Human Communication Studies	ССОМ	285	Elected [2023]	3-year
Write-in			17		

**Election Participation by Constituency** 

Administration	68 voted / 75 total – 91% participation
Arts	21 voted / 83 total – 25% participation
Communications	35 voted / 89 total – 39% participation
Engineering & Computer Science	46 voted / 75 total – 61% participation
Education	28 voted / 74 total – 38% participation
Health & Human Development	85 voted / 159 total – 53% participation
Humanities	31 voted / 87 total – 36% participation
L/A/C [Library/Athletics/Counseling & Psych Svcs]	12 voted / 65 total – 18% participation
Mihaylo College of Business & Economics	42 voted / 161 total – 26% participation
Natural Sciences & Mathematics	42 voted / 120 total – 35% participation
Part-Time Faculty	64 voted / 1,125 total – 6% participation
Social Sciences	105 voted / 168 total – 63% participation
Full-Time Staff	233 voted / 1,466 total – 16% participation
Student Affairs No Election	8 voted / 53 total – 15% participation

NOTE: Due to a lack of clarity in the by-laws with respect to the required vote threshold to win an election to a General Committee, any General Committee vacancy without a clear majority shall remain pending until the Election Committee prepares language to submit to the Academic Senate for approval prior to the next Special Election (scheduled for Fall 2020).

## GENERAL COMMITTEES

<b>FACULTY PERSON</b>	NEL CO	MMITTEE			
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Christina Smith*	3-year [2023]	Arts	Write-in:	<b>243</b>	Elected
Pending	2-year [2022]	Communications	Write-in:	<b>0</b> 13	Pending
Uksun Kim*	3-year [2023]	Engineering & Computer Science	Write-in:	<b>250</b> 2	Elected
Sadeeka Al-Majid*	1-year [2021]	Health & Human Development	Write-in	<b>233</b> 5	Elected
Mortaza Jamshidian*	3-year [2023]	Natural Sciences & Mathematics	Write-in	<b>247</b> 1	Elected

<sup>\*</sup>Senate Nominee

PROFESSIONAL LEAVES COMMITTEE					
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Emily Erickson*	1-year [2021]	Communications	Write-in	<b>262</b> 2	Elected
Shawn Wang*	3-year [2023]	Engineering & Computer Science	Write-in	<b>265</b> 1	Elected
Bonnie Williams*	2-year [2022]	Humanities	Write-in	<b>265</b> 0	Elected
Kathleen Preston*	3-year [2023]	Social Sciences	Write-in	<b>273</b> 2	Elected
Esther Chen*	3-year [2023]	Natural Sciences & Mathematics	Write-in	<b>259</b> 0	Elected
Pending	3-year [2023]	Library	Write-in	<b>0</b> 30	Pending

<sup>\*</sup>Senate Nominee

Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Dennis Siebenaler*	2-year [2022]	Arts	Write-in	<b>246</b> 1	Elected
HyeKyeung Seung*	2-year [2022]	Communications	Write-in	<b>255</b> 0	Elected
Daniela Rubin*	2-year [2022]	Health & Human Development	Write-in:	<b>257</b> 2	Elected
Natalie Graham*	1-year [2021]	Social Sciences	Write-in	<b>262</b> 3	Elected
Zair Ibragimov*	2-year [2022]	Natural Sciences & Mathematics	Write-in	<b>246</b> 2	Elected
Steven Chen*	2-year [2022]	Mihaylo College of Business & Economics	Write-in	<b>240</b>	Elected

Thank you to the constituents who participated in this year's election. Congratulations to the newly elected senators and our appreciation to the nominees for their interest in serving.