





April 28, 2023

ASD 23-56

To: CSUF Academic Senate Electorate

From: Elections Committee

Subject: Results of April 24-27, 2023: All-University Election, Spring 2023

Electorate Break-Down	Total	Voted	Participation Rate
Full-Time Constituents	1,212	462	38%
Part-Time Faculty	1,104	48	4%
Full-Time Staff	1,420	217	15%
Total Electorate	3,736	727	19%

ACADEMIC SENATE SEATS

CONSTITUENCY

Administration		[Two 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Su Swarat	38 votes	Elected
Tonantzin Oseguera	34 votes	Elected
Write-in	0 votes	

Student Affairs		[One 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Sarah Bauer	15 votes	Elected
Write-in	0 votes	

Business & Economics		[Four 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Denise Stanley	32 votes	Elected
Ken Guo	29 votes	Elected
Mahdi Ebrahimi	28 votes	Elected
Shadi Goodarzi	27 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Engineering & Computer Science [One 2-year] 2025		[One 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Pradeep Nair	23 votes	Elected
Hope Weiss	19 votes	
Write-in	5 votes	

Health & Human Development		[Three 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Katherine Bono	71 votes	Elected
Michele Wood	65 votes	Elected
Joe Albert Garcia	59 votes	Elected
Write-in	3 votes	

Humanities		[Two 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Satoko Kakihara	27 votes	Elected
Write-in	3 votes	

Natural Sciences & Mathematics		[Two 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Melanie Sacco	38 votes	Elected
Greg Childers	29 votes	Elected
Write-in	0 votes	

Social Sciences		[Two 2-year] 2025
Candidates	Votes	Results
Eileen Walsh	64 votes	Elected
Rob Robinson	48 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

L/A/C [Library/Athletics/Counseling & Psych Svcs] [One 2-year] 2025		
Candidates	Votes	Results
Megan Graewingholt	12 votes	Elected
Write-in	0 votes	

Part-Time Faculty		[Two 1-year] 2024
Candidates	Votes	Results
Teresa Landeros	38 votes	Elected
David Plouffe	35 votes	Elected
Write-in	3 votes	

Full-Time Staff		[Two 1-year] 2024
Candidates	Votes	Results
Nina Garcia	170 votes	Elected
Matthew Badal	148 votes	Elected
Justin Stewart	42 votes	
Write-in	4 votes	

At-Large Seats	Department	Constituency	Votes	[Two 3-year]	Term
Jon Bruschke	Human Communication Studies	ССОМ	297	Elected [2026]	3-year
Carolina Valdez	Elementary and Bilingual Education	EDUC	286	Elected [2026]	3-year
Write-in			24		

Election Participation by Constituency

Administration	-	40 voted / 66 total – 61% participation
Arts	No Election	18 voted / 92 total – 20% participation
Business & Economics	-	40 voted / 163 total – 25% participation
Communications	No Election	26 voted / 83 total – 31% participation
Engineering & Computer Science		47 voted / 68 total – 69% participation
Education	No Election	26 voted / 71 total – 37% participation
Full-Time Staff		217 voted / 1,420 total – 15% participation
Health & Human Development	-	86 voted / 159 total – 54% participation
Humanities		30 voted / 93 total – 32% participation
L/A/C [Library/Athletics/Counseling & Psych Svcs]	-	13 voted / 70 total – 19% participation
Natural Sciences & Mathematics		39 voted / 124 total – 31% participation
Part-Time Faculty		48 voted / 1,104 total – 4% participation
Social Sciences	-	82 voted / 194 total – 42% participation
Student Affairs		15 voted / 29 total – 52% participation

FACULTY PERSONNEL COMMITTEE					
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
John Koegel*	3-year [2026]	Arts	Write-in:	245 4	Elected
Doug Swanson*	2-year [2025]	Communications	Write-in:	246 3	Elected
Prantanu Ghosh* Uksun Kim	3-year [2026]	Engineering & Computer Science	Write-in:	162* 74 26	Elected
Cynthia Gautreau*	1-year [2024]	Education	Write-in:	255 3	Elected
Mortaza Jamshidan*	3-year [2026]	Natural Sciences & Mathematics	Write-in:	247 4	Elected

GENERAL COMMITTEES

*Senate Nominee

PROFESSIONAL LEAVES COMMITTEE					
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Maria Casanova*	2-year [2025]	Business & Economics	Write-in:	258 3	Elected
Anand Panangadan*	3-year [2026]	Engineering & Computer Science	Write-in:	263 7	Elected
Deanna Jung*	1-year [2024]	Health & Human Development	Write-in:	262 3	Elected
Esther Chen	3-year [2026]	Natural Sciences & Mathematics	Write-in:	265 0	Elected
Elizabeth Pillsworth*	3-year [2026]	Social Sciences	Write-in:	258 1	Elected
Robert Tomaszewski*	3-year [2026]	Library	Write-in:	256 1	Elected

*Senate Nominee

FACULTY RESEARCH COMMITTEE					
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Pending	2-year [2025]	Arts			
Sagil James*	2-year [2025]	Engineering & Computer Science	Write-in:	258 8	Elected
Aja McKee*	2-year [2025]	Education	Write-in:	257 1	Elected
Rebecca Bodan*	1-year [2024]	Health & Human Development	Write-in:	251 2	Elected
Daniel Rueckert*	2-year [2025]	Humanities	Write-in:	251 0	Elected
Ahmed Afzal*	2-year [2025]	Social Sciences	Write-in:	254 3	Elected
Sarah Parramore*	2-year [2025]	Library	Write-in:	253 0	Elected

Thank you to the constituents who participated in this year's election. Congratulations to the newly elected senators and our appreciation to the nominees for their interest in serving.