About the Program

The Abrego Future Scholars Program at California State University, Fullerton (CSUF) is a scholarship program established in an effort to increase college participation of first generation and historically underrepresented students.

Each year up to forty incoming freshmen and first-year transfer students are selected as Abrego Future Scholars recipients. Student receive a scholarship and benefit from personalized support services to help facilitate their student success at Cal State Fullerton. Recipients must complete a set of requirements as part of the scholarship program; these activities are always developed to advance the student both academically and professionally.

A few ways our students get connected while at CSUF:

  • Participating in an orientation course exclusively for Future Scholars
  • Studying abroad and taking advantage of learning in other countries
  • Participating in undergraduate research with faculty 
  • Volunteering and giving back through community service
  • Working as interns and employees at diverse and varied companies