Music Associates

Carol Candlelight

Membership formPDF File Opens in new window

Join Today!
PDF File

Organized in 1968

Purpose: The Music Associates of California State University, Fullerton is an exciting and dynamic volunteer organization that provides support to the School of Music through its fundraising and membership dues—helping the School of Music in its goals for excellence.

Projects & Activities: Members participate and lead array of wonderful special activites including:

  •     Membership Reception (Early October)
  •     A Carol Candlelight Dinner & Concert (December)
  •     Performance Awards Competition (February & March)
  •     Music & Magic Spring Luncheon (April)
  •     Scholarships (Ongoing)

Goals: Membership contribution-dues and special events enable the Music Associates to:

  • Offer scholarships to deserving CSUF School of Music students
  • Sponsor an annual performance competition to recognize excellence in the areas of vocal, strings, winds/ percussion and piano performance
  • Provide funds for special projects upon request of the School of Music
  • Increase the Scholarship Endowment Fund

Board Meetings (Third Friday of the month at 10 a.m.)

All members are welcome to attend board meetings held in the conference room of the Visual Arts Building.

Members receive:

  • Complimentary fun and enriching activities including the Fall Membership reception and Spring Concerto-Aria Awards Concert
  • Invitations to unique fundraising events including the Music & Magic Luncheon and Carol Candlelight Event
  • Invitations, discounts and special offers on selected campus activities and productions in the Joseph Clayes III Performing Arts Center
  • Music Associates Newsletters

For more information, please contact the School of Music office at (657) 278-3511.


1968-1970: Maxon Foss
1970-1973: Elaine Redfield
1973-1975: Winifred Semans
1975-1977: Marcy A. Mulville
1977-1979: Dee Gustafson
1979-1981: Carolyn Loe
1981-1983: Kathryn Sims
1983-1985: Joyce Leong
1985-1987: Mrs. Philip Johnson
1987-1989: Cathrynn Thorsen
1989-1991: Leath Millen
1991-1993: Joyce Leong
1993-1995: Ingrid Shutkin
1996-1999: Gabriele Genereux
1999-2000: Miriam Slatic
2000-2006: Jeanne Blum
2006-2008: Gabriele Genereux
2009-current: Sandy Johnson