CSUF Problem Solving Seminar

The CSUF Problem Solving Seminar traditionally engages our interested undergraduate students as they prepare for the William Lowell Putnam Competition. Besides the content similar to these programs, we are discussing problems from various journals, including The American Mathematical Monthly, Mathematics Magazine, the College Mathematical Journal, Gazeta matematică, or the Mathematical Gazette (London).

Our goal is to inform and entertain, as we enjoy exploring fundamental mathematics. Any undergraduate student is most welcome and invited to join. All the sessions are independent from one another.

The W.L. Putnam Competition takes place the first Sunday of December each year.

Organizers :

Dr. W. Riley Casper, Assistant Professor of Mathematics wcasper@fullerton.edu

Dr. Bogdan Suceava, Professor of Mathematics bsuceava@fullerton.edu

Meeting Time:

The CSUF Problem Solving Seminar meets every Friday 1PM-2PM in MH 476 (with the occasional exception).

Fall 2022 Schedule:

Friday, September 2, 1:00 pm Riley Casper
Friday, September 9, 1:00 pm

Sho Seto

Friday, September 16, 1:00 pm

Tommy Murphy

Friday, September 23, 1:00 pm

Matt Rathbun

Friday, September 30, 1:00 pm

Adam Glesser

Friday, October 7, 1:00 pm

Riley Casper

Friday, October 14, 1:00 PM

Sam Fleyshman and

Sara Anderson

Friday, October 21, 1:00 pm

Kevin Nichols

Friday, October 28, 1:00 pm

Stephanie Reed

Friday, November 4, 1:00 pm

Tyler Kim

Spring 2022 Schedule:

Friday, January 28, 1:00 pm Bogdan Suceava
Friday, February 18, 1:00 pm

Riley Casper

Friday, February 25, 1:00 pm

Mauricio Gomez

Friday, March 4, 1:00 pm

Bogdan Suceava

Friday, March 11, 1:00 pm

Mauricio Gomez

Friday, March 18, 1:00 pm

Shoo Seto

Friday, March 25, 1:00 pm

Riley Casper

Friday, April 15, 1:00 pm

Mauricio Gomez

Friday, April 22, 1:00 pm

Branden Gu

Friday, April 29, 1:00 pm

Ixhua Ramirez

Friday, May 6, 1:00 pm

Solomon Huang