Undergraduate Students

(See University CatalogOpens in new window for more information.)

Geological Sciences Bachelor of Science


The Bachelor of Science in geology consists of 48 units in geological science, at least 30 units in related fields, and 39 general education units. Students are required to complete a total of 120 units for graduation.  Courses in related fields are in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, computer science, mathematics and physics. The geology and related-fields courses have been selected to prepare students for:

  1. graduate studies in geology related subjects such as geochemistry, geophysics, or oceanography;
  2. employment in one of the many areas of the geological sciences;
  3. teaching in the geological sciences; and
  4. an avocation in the geological sciences.

Earth Science Bachelor of Arts


The Bachelor of Arts in Earth Science is offered for students who are interested in developing Earth science careers in K-12 science education, resource management, law, policy making/politics, journalism, and sustainable business.  It will provide a well-balanced and flexible academic background that allows them to examine critically the growing number of Earth science related problems.

Of the 120 units required for graduation, a minimum of 32 are Earth science courses in Geology and Geography, 24 are in related fields, 3 are in Upper Division Writing, and 39 are in non-science and non-math general education courses.  The remaining 22 undesignated units are selected to meet the particular needs of each student.  To qualify for the B.A. in Earth science degree, students must have a "C" (2.0) or better in all Earth science courses applied toward the 32-unit requirement; in addition, students must have a 2.0 average in required related fields courses.