Welcome   to the first USA-Uzbekistan Conference on Analysis and Mathematical Physics

The conference will be held in the Steven G. Mihaylo Hall at California State University, Fullerton on May 20-23, 2014.  Graduate students, early-career mathematicians (post-doctoral and non-tenure track assistant professors within six years of receiving their Ph.D.) and members of groups under-represented in mathematics are especially welcomed and encouraged to participate and apply for financial support. 

About the Conference

The conference aims to stimulate interactions among the U.S. researchers in Analysis and Mathematical Physics and their counterparts in Uzbekistan and other countries, and serve as a catalyst for future collaborations. It will center on the following main themes: dynamical systems, mathematical physics, operator algebras and several complex variables. A number of significant results have recently been established in these areas, which will be disseminated through the scheduled plenary talks. Parallel sessions will allow for the presentation of a broad spectrum of results in the area through the scheduled invited talks. Poster presentations will afford more junior mathematicians and students the opportunity to speak on their work.

Local Organizing Committee

  • Asuman Aksoy (Claremont McKenna College)
  • Stephen Goode (California State University, Fullerton)
  • Zair Ibragimov (California State University, Fullerton)
  • Robert Koch (California State University, Fullerton)


Scientific Committee

  • Tadeusz Iwaniec (Syracuse University), co-chair
  • Azimbay Sadullaev (National University of Uzbekistan), co-chair
  • Asuman Aksoy (Claremont McKenna College)
  • Shavkat Alimov (Malaysian Institute of Microelectronic Systems)
  • Ravshan Ashurov (Institute of Mathematics, National University of Uzbekistan)
  • Shavkat Ayupov (Institute of Mathematics, National University of Uzbekistan)
  • Abdulla Azamov (Institute of Mathematics, National University of Uzbekistan)
  • Mario Bonk (University of California at Los Angeles)
  • Zair Ibragimov (California State University, Fullerton)
  • Michel Lapidus (University of California at Riverside)
  • Sergey Pinchuk (Indiana University at Bloomington)
  • Mark Pinsky (Northwestern University)
  • Bernard Russo (University of California at Irvine)
  • Yakov Sinai (Princeton University)


Conference Support

Funding for the conference has been kindly provided by the National Science Foundation (Grant No. 1401316). Additional funding has been provided by the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at California State University, Fullerton. The conference is presented in cooperation with the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Michel Lapidus is the AMS representative on the Scientific Committee. 

The NSF funding will provide partial support to participants who have no alternative source of funding. Preference will be given to graduate students, early-career mathematicians and under-represented minorities whose participation is not fully supported by other sources.