Outstanding Student Scholarly and Creative Activities Award 2022

The Outstanding Student Scholarly and Creative Activities Award recognizes excellence in student participation in research or creative activities. The award is presented to one undergraduate and graduate student per college, whether working independently on a research project or creative activity, or collaboratively with a faculty member. For the College of Education, the award is presented to one masters and one doctoral student.


All current CSUF students (including those who graduated in December 2021 or who will graduate in May 2022) are eligible. Faculty may each nominate one student and their nominee may be outside of their own college (students will be considered within their college, not the faculty member's college).
Email the application to scar@fullerton.edu (Subject Line: Student’s Last Name SCAR Award Nomination 2022) by noon, Friday, March 25, 2022.
Awards will be presented virtually at the close of Student Creative Activities and Research Days (details to follow).


Contact Student Creative Activities and Research (SCAR) Faculty Fellow, Dr. Terri Patchen (scar@fullerton.edu)

2022 Outstanding Student Scholarly and Creative Activity Award Recipients 

College of the Arts

Mary Vasquez, Visual Arts, Undergraduate
Faculty Mentor: Patricia Drew, Part-time Faculty of Visual Arts

Anna Lopez, School of Music, Graduate
Faculty Mentor: Katherine Reed, Associate Professor of Musicology

College of Business and Economics

John Gomez, Finance, Undergraduate
Faculty Mentor: Kelly Ko, Part-time Faculty of Finance

Kayvan Harirchi, Marketing, Graduate
Faculty Mentor: Steven Chen, Professor of Marketing

College of Communications

Joshua Ayala, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Graduate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Phil Weir-Mayta, Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders

College of Education

Erin Lion DeRosa, Educational Leadership, Doctorate
Faculty Mentor: Carol Lundberg, Professor of Educational Leadership

College of Engineering and Computer Science

Aaron Nguyen, Computer Engineering, Undergraduate 
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jaya Dofe, Assistant Professor of Computer Engineering

Diana Fregoso-Sanchez, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Graduate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Xenia Wirth, Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

College of Health and Human Development

Mary Storll, Social Work, Masters
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Lidia E. Nuño, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice; Dr. Veronica Herrera, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice

Lisa Castaños, School of Nursing, Doctorate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Asma Taha, Professor of School of Nursing

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Gabriel Ponce, Philosophy, Undergraduate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Irena Praitis, Professor of English

Eric Daniel Cortez, Psychology, Graduate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Lisa Mori, Professor of Psychology

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Evelyn Pohle, Mathematics, Undergraduate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Alison Marzocchi, Associate Professor of Mathematics

José Guardado, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Graduate
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Andrew Petit, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Check out Previous Years' Awardees