Awards and Recognitions


2022 Awards List


Outstanding Major, B.A.

- Elora Camacho -

Outstanding Major, B.S.

- Kim Perkins -

Awarded to an upper-division major who demonstrates high quality performance in classes, in their undergraduate research project, and in some type of service to the department, University, or community.


Outstanding Academic Achievement, B.A.

- Fatima Gonzalez -

Outstanding Academic Achievement, B.S.

- Ashley Scholder -

Awarded to a junior or senior major with an exceptional C.S.U.F. G.P.A. The number of units completed in Geology and the related fields will be factored into the decision.


Outstanding Graduate Student Award in Geology

- Julia Chen -

Awarded to a Geology graduate student who demonstrates excellent performance in classes and in their research as evidenced by, but not limited to, publications, presentations, collegiality, and/or leadership in the department.


Outstanding Graduate Teaching Associate in Geology

- Melonie Nguyen -

Awarded to Geology graduate student teaching associate (T.A.) who demonstrates outstanding performance based on, but not limited to, Student Opinion Questionnaires, in-class visitations by faculty, teaching, collegiality, and/or mentoring other teaching associates.


Candice L. Jones Outstanding Service

- Katya Beener -

Given to the student who has made a significant contribution to the mission, operation and/or well being of the Department community. Examples of service include, but are not limited to, taking a leadership role in Geology Club activities; serving as a T.A., tutor, or volunteer in GEOL classes; selflessly assisting others in meeting their educational, research or outreach objectives. Efforts above and beyond any employment or course credit obligations are given greater weight, and a positive attitude is required.


John D. Cooper Field Camp

- Tracy Donelli -

Awarded to a declared Geological Sciences Major with outstanding performance in GEOL 481A-Geology Field Camp. Selected by field camp instructor with approval of all full-time geology faculty.


John D. Cooper Field Camp Scholarship

- JieQi Yan -

Awarded to a student who shows financial need, outstanding academic achievement (2.5 G.P.A. or better for the previous academic year), and capacity to excel at field camp. Recipient to be selected by faculty of the Department of Geological Sciences.


Marilyn A. Brown Scholarship

- Tristan Stock -

Awarded to a graduate student conducting research in the general areas of paleontology or stratigraphy, and having an expressed or demonstrated interest in teaching or educational outreach.


Dr. Margaret Skillman Woyski Scholarship

- Vincent Mugica -

Open to declared geology major with 2.5 G.P.A. or better for the previous academic year. Awarded annually to a student who shows financial need and outstanding academic achievement. Service to the department or the university is also required, i.e., involvement in the geology club, tutoring or participation in faculty directed research. The award will be made on the recommendation of the entire full-time faculty of the department.


Prem K. Saint Hydrology

- Hank Dickey -

Award for Geological Sciences or Environmental Studies (with Environmental Sciences emphasis) major with a G.P.A. of 3.0 or better for the previous academic year. Recipient must show an outstanding academic performance in course work and/or research in Hydrology, Hydrogeology or Water Quality. Award based on the recommendation of the geology full-time faculty.


Clemens-Knott² Scholarship

- Kim Perkins -

Established by faculty members Diane Clemens-Knott and Jeffrey R. Knott. Open to undergraduates who will be attending the C.S.U. Fullerton field camp or a similar geologic-mapping-focused field camp in the upcoming Summer.


Department of Geological Sciences Alumni Field Camp Scholarship

- Jakob Montgomery -

Open to declared geology and earth science majors that will be enrolled in GEOL 481A - Field Camp, in the upcoming summer. Awarded to a student who shows financial need, outstanding academic achievement (2.5 G.P.A. or better for the previous academic year), and quality of written statements. This scholarship is given through the generosity of the alumni and friends of the department. Recipient to be selected by faculty of the department.


David L. Willoughby Scholarship

- Caitlin Bates -

Awarded to undergraduate students who are studying geology or paleontology, or who are participating in course-related fieldwork. Minimum G.P.A. of 2.5 or higher in geological sciences.


Searchers Gem and Mineral Society Award

- Sadie Durning -

Established by The Searchers Gem and Mineral SocietyOpens in new window and awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student who has demonstrated an interest in mineralogy, petrology or science education, with 2.5 or better G.P.A. during the previous academic year, and the recommendation of the faculty.