Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Cal State Fullerton is committed to the work of creating a diverse, equitable, and inclusive campus.

Back for its second year, the Scott Jewett Fund for Student Success and Innovation is geared toward providing faculty, staff, or students to create opportunities for our students and alumni through the lens of social justice.

Last year 11 programs were selected and received awards to start their programs. From a Latinx theater festival to an Engineering Design competition, there was a wide range of ideas and programs made possible. You can read about all 11 proposals here.

This year we are accepting proposals that benefit the students or alumni of Cal State Fullerton and that are focused on addressing social justice issues. Each submission should be tied to at least one of the six CSUF Guiding Principles of Social Justice.

How to Apply

To be considered for funding, you need to:

  • Complete the online application
    • 1000-word abstract must answer the following questions:
      • Who is the audience/benefactor of this project?
      • What is the desired outcome?
      • Which guiding principle(s) does your project seek to further?
      • What team members/hired staff will be used to accomplish your goal?
    • Separate from your abstract, please submit a detailed budget and timeline. Please submit the budget as a spreadsheet.

Additional Requirements

  • All proposals must be student/alumni focused (primary beneficiary) and demonstrate how the project assists the campus in furthering its social justice mission.
  • Students applying must be affiliated with an existing campus-sanctioned club or organization, or they must have a staff/faculty member be named as a co-requester. Faculty members requesting with students must assume responsibility for account holding.
  • Requests for time release for faculty must have a letter of approval from the department chair/dean.
  • Each submission can request up to $150,000. All proposals will be weight equally, no matter the amount requested.

Budget Planning

  • All funding accounts will be issued through Auxiliary Services Corporation.
  • Any student employees or stipend faculty or staff will be required to be hired through ASC to review funds.
  • Please include a 10% payroll tax for all staffed positions funded through the program.

All pieces of the submission must be received by the deadline, 02/24/2023. Any submissions deemed incomplete may not be vetted and will be eliminated from consideration.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can proposals be multi-year projects?

Yes, please indicate in your timeline the estimated start and completion dates of your project.

Can funds be used for travel?

Yes, you can request funds for travel. You must adhere to all current CSUF travel policy rules, including restrictions to banned states.

Can multiple people request funds?

Yes, you can have multiple requesters on your application. The name assigned as requester one will serve as the primary contact.

More questions?
Please contact Andrea Kelligrew at

Committee Leadership

Greg Saks Vice President, University Advancement; Committee Chair

Lydia Kelly President, Associated Students; Committee Vice Chair

Selection Committee

Aida Aryan, Chair, Association for InterCultural Awareness

Mary Chammas, Chief Governmental Office, Associated Students, Inc.

Martha Enciso, Associate Vice President, Student Affairs

Mike Dickerson, Senior Manager, Customer Service & Outreach, Titan Shops

Isabella Galvan, Board of Directors Chair, Associated Students, Inc.

Danielle Garcia, Chief of Staff, President's Office

Grace Gutierrez, Strategic Initiatives Specialist, Human Resources, Diversity and Inclusion

Rommel Hidalgo, Associate Vice President / Innovation Officer, Information Technology

Jade Jewett, Professor and Consultant, College of the Arts

Stefanie Light, Chief of Operations, University Advancement

Yuying Tsong, Associate Vice President, Student Success, Academic Affairs

Eileen Walsh, Professor of Sociology, Academic Senate Chair

Ella Ben Hagai, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology